The Spotlight

DayFour – Painting

In Planning on June 28, 2009 at 6:22 pm

Paint

*UPDATE – Results here*

The Reason:

Drawing, sculpture, and painting played a major role in the early stages of my life.  As nerdy as it sounds, I used to create and sketch my own comic book characters in class back in 4th grade.  After I grew out of that phase, I began painting Bob Ross-esque oil landscapes and sold them to my friends’ parents, my family, and my parent’s co-workers.  It quickly evolved into a legitimate revenue source (about $150 per painting) for a simple hobby that I enjoyed doing in my spare time.  Unfortunately after heading to college, creating art began to slowly fade out of my life.  So it’s time to bring it back.

The Plan:

A few years ago, I had an idea to re-engage with my artistic side on a small business venture where we would sell artwork of iconic figures in a vector, duo-tone style.  Here is an example of a Marvin Gaye piece that was created back then:

marvin

The business idea was that our products could be ordered with any two colors (swap out the red and yellow for colors that match your home decor)…but that’s as far as I’ll go without fully exposing the idea.  So the plan is to relaunch that dream with another 36×48 oil painting.

I have chosen Bob Marley as my initial inspirational icon accompanied by the Trenchtown Rock lyric: “One good thing about music, When it hits you feel no pain, So hit me with music”.   Below is the image it will be based on and the color palette I plan on using:

p15021di2c8 Dig_My_Olive_Branch

Let me know what you think of the image, colors, and/or quote…I’m open to suggestions.

The Outcome:
If the painting is successful, I will dedicate Saturday mornings to building out inventory of paintings to actually launch this project again.

Leave a Reply

