The Spotlight

DayFifteen – NYC Tour

In Planning on June 20, 2009 at 9:57 pm

The Reason:

I live in NY, I love NY and I don’t know if I can ever leave.  The city consumes all my time but I don’t recognize the cultural, historical, and even communal significance of my surroundings.  I want to become familiar with the nooks and crannies that make up this concrete jungle.  If I strip away the distractions of wild singing bums on the subway, street vendors selling fake purses, midtown suits, office buildings, and yellow cabbies …I will be exposed to the riches that lay underneath the sea of people.

The Plan:

header_bus

Yup. That’s right.

It’s corny but I am gonna Hop On and Hop Off that bus filled with curious, sweaty Europeans venturing all around the city.  I’ve always wanted to do this but never felt it was appropriate or even acceptable as a native NYer.  But why not act as a tourist and explore the city… plus the deal is too good. Check out the site … the Uptown-Downtown tour is only $54 (if you want to join me, please do, its so damn cheap!):

  • Downtown
  • Uptown & Harlem
  • Brooklyn
  • Night Tour
  • CityLine Harbor Cruise
  • Museum of NYC

Outcome:

Gain knowledge of the city.  Scout out interesting locations in the city. Practice a little photography.  Meet a few tourists.

  1. dude. the bus tour is so much fun. we went last year for davin’s birthday. even in the freezing cold it was awesome! i personally went on the grayline and thought it was fun. it’s pretty much the same i think..

Leave a Reply

