The Spotlight

DayTwo – Photography

In Planning on June 14, 2009 at 1:04 am

photography

*UPDATE – Results Here*

The Reason:

I love beautiful artwork and capturing under appreciated or even overlooked imagery.  I also am passionate about film which is tightly connected through capturing the best angles, lighting, color treatment, etc.  In college I had an extremely fulfilling photography course plus I have access to SLR and DLSR cameras, so why not polish up my skills.

The Plan:

After getting some suggestions, I landed on a themed photo project that I will submit to jpgmag.com.  If you are unfamiliar, the site presents themes for photographers to submit their work and the community votes for their favorites.  The winning selections get a monetary prize and published in their quarterly magazine.  Pretty cool.  Here are the themes that I will aim for:

Color Theory – Photos that are mainly one color

The World of Tomorrow – Photos from the future

Gender Roles – Gender in society

A successful shot will be a combination of being in the right place at the right time as well as having a creative approach.  If you have any ideas, please let me know and wish me good luck!

The Outcome:

I will have a day’s worth of focused photography and some practice under my belt.  Plus the constructive criticism will help me next time I am out shooting again.

Leave a Reply

